top of page

In-Between Tomorrow - Quinn Matteson

Today comes and so does another sunrise about which

I have nothing to say that has not been said before. Somewhere in between

are the bits of the world I don’t quite hold on to

but can’t bear to leave. The camera pans to you,

lacing worn running shoes with ferocity. But to me, the wonder is in the smiling sky above,

tickled by the sparrows headed north, each trilling as they go –

for so many, this will be their last. The sky decides

not to tell them. It is afraid to sour their company.

It’s funny, the things we hold on to. But you

were always good at running. Not so much at those moments in between.

I don’t run. The last time I did, I blistered.

I blister still. Time doesn’t heal, she only forms a scab.

Somewhere in between all this I’m driving with nowhere in mind - I’ve seen

it all before.

I find myself waiting for the red lights.

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page