top of page

Vision of The Future - Karolína Fabianová

Trying to see the light

at the end of the tunnel

while carrying the barrel

limiting my sight

to issues and issues only

heavy and poisonous as lead.



Trying to ignore the leak

from the barrel spreading uncontrollably,

soaking into my clothes and shoes,

creating a river of despair under my feet.

I’m too tired and preoccupied to speak,

but still pushing forward not to lose.



Trying to fight the battle

with the barrel and my own intrusive thoughts,

my repeating nightmares and never leaving doubts

because the issues keep spilling out,

and there are still more crises to come to create a hole

where humanity’s vision of the future is buried,

but not surrounded with flowers and candles,

instead it’s covered in ashes and oil puddles

from all the things everybody says I shouldn’t be worried

about.



But really shouldn’t I,

if it’s me and millions of others

living and being born into this world,

which is already a burning pile

waiting impatiently to explode?

And maybe that’s where

the light at the end

of the tunnel comes from

- from humanity’s downfall.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page